Flight – Friday Fictioneers

24

June 22, 2016 by petrujviljoen

I alight from my flight, step through my own door. I departed so long ago. Objects d’art, chairs, chintz, familiar, all mine. I don’t really remember that it is.

Suitcase – just inside the door. I’ll find my room later …

The laptop swung onto the dining table, dust flying. I’ll start where I left off after the, after … well, that is, before the …

I, the spectator, the guest. Effectively silenced. For so long.

Amazed, I watch myself.

Screaming glad I still can sustained grieving shattered glass exploding bleeding hurting laughing life healing wholly being freely searching.

Copyright Rich Voza

Copyright Rich Voza

I’ve come full circle. I wrote my first flash fiction for Friday Fictioneers to this photograph. The current fiction is a metaphorical sequel. I’d like to thank Rochelle for her unstinting diligence as hostess. I grew in my writing beyond my expectations and am grateful to have had the opportunity. I probably wouldn’t have turned writer but for Friday Fictioneers! Thank you also to fellow fictioneers for the considerable support given.

Follow the link to Rochelle’s blog, click on the blue frog to read the other writers.

24 thoughts on “Flight – Friday Fictioneers

  1. ceayr says:

    Cool description of life changing, life going on, regardless…

    Like

  2. Wow! A tough read but that’s what we’re here for. I need more time to digest this. Love a challenge.

    Like

  3. madamewriter says:

    Hmmm…observing the self. Feels like he might have died in a plane crash. If so, the dust in the apartment suggests after-world time operates differently than real-time. Vivid, metaphoric story. Brava!

    Like

  4. michael1148humphris says:

    A interesting piece, making me work hard to build a mental picture, which I just about have.

    Like

  5. Dear Petruj,

    Haunting piece. Thank you for your kind words and I’m pleased FF has helped your writing. I can say the same thing for myself which is why I have to keep it going. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  6. I can see her returning… very much changed… anchored but connected… maybe done with escaping.

    Like

  7. Sandra says:

    A mysterious piece, but makes good reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like the surreal. Unbounded.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. wmqcolby says:

    Hey! How’s it going? I don’t remember this story, but it IS somewhat mysterious. Surreal, actually.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. neilmacdon says:

    Hmm, That’s mysterious. I assume he’s dead, but I’m not sure

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 453 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

