The cnr of Mooi and Fox, inner city of Johannesburg.

Leave a comment

February 18, 2016 by petrujviljoen

johannesburgcitywithaheart

011 (352x450)

Much the same experience as on the cnr of Noord and Banket. Living in a warehouse this time. The noise of the traffic! Hectic! I’m not sure I didn’t suffer brain damage from it. I really wasn’t as happy as previously on account of it.

Living near the Carlton Centre I occasionally went to the movies if there was something worthwhile to watch:

  • When Sophiatown showed people had to sit in the aisles it got so full. I was early enough to be offered a seat – a woman let her child sit on her lap to make space for me.
  • When 8 Miles showed, about EminEm, the white rapper from America – Yes, I was the only white person in the movie house. As usual.

The only people who ever asked me why I was living in the inner city were foreigners.

Time passed, I got older. Walking along…

View original post 348 more words

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 453 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

