Doodling

2

December 11, 2013 by petrujviljoen

Continuing with the collaboration in artists’ books with  Cheryl Penn through the artistbooks.ning.com these ‘doodles’ were made on her request. She collects doodles from people all over the world. Should you like to participate, kindly find the Collaborative Books tag on the artistbooks website, or go directly to her blog for her contact details.

I know that doodles can be quite revealing of where one’s at; psychologically speaking. Doris Lessing had something to say about it in her autobiography. May the grand dame of fiction rest in peace. I can’t supply a quote, it was a library book (Johannesburg) and I don’t have access to it any longer.

These doodles are often from the sub-conscious. Things one make while on the phone or thinking of other things. I often make them. They’re all over my journal, in between my writings, not necessarily just in the margins, or small. There seems to be an upward sweep or tendency in this bunch. I remained with the pencil as medium this time because that’s what I’d normally use when I doodle.

My Oxford Reference Dictionary (published 1986 – time to get a new one); says the origin is a foolish person. I don’t necessarily agree.

2 thoughts on “Doodling

  1. I doodle, therefore I am

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 453 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

