South Africa – National Woman’s Day

15

August 9, 2017 by petrujviljoen

DISCLAIMER: The Good Men reading this, you know who you are, this is not for you and thanks for the support. This also acts as a trigger-warning.

A series of tanka and haiku – no apologies

 

Highest statistics

Of woman abuse worldwide

– South Africa’s shame

Thugs, real thugs, rule the country

Donald Trump, eat your heart out

…..

Tired, worn, crumpled

Bad man, why you pick on me?

– I’m a soft target

Ah! Fight someone your own size

Coward! Beating up on me!

….

Living fear often

Heart-thumping, crippling, blind fear.

Really! Do you understand?

….

A local slogan

‘I’m a woman I’m a rock’

– toppled and shattered

….

on a walk, alone,

the road bends and there’s a man

– piss run down my leg

Five tranquilisers

and five long hours it took

– a panic attack

……………………………..

As much as I can take in one sitting of a 20-minute write.

Happy Woman’s Day South Africa!

15 thoughts on “South Africa – National Woman’s Day

  1. E says:

    Sitting with those images could be a reformative experience for those other kinds of men. Your poem should become required reading.

    Like

  2. The first piece was very sharp. Well done on the entire body.

    Like

  3. Tragedy beautifully expressed. Heart wrenching. And I agree Trump, some men, no heart. America is definitely struggling too. The world can be such a mess. Sending love!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AnnIsikArts says:

    Only one problem with this – Donald Trump has no heart to eat out. Whatever he eats to maintain his magnificent physique, it’s not his own heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your words have a lot of power.

    Like

  6. Charley says:

    I won’t deny the possibility of the brutality of men. And the needfulness of men to stand as heroes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 487 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

