deception

8

August 7, 2017 by petrujviljoen

I shouldn’t admit – I’m a fool. There-

having declared a vulnerability made

opportunity for some not so subtle manipulation

playing on my insecurities.

 

Having declared all my insecurities

for the sake of healing and well-being

she then played mind games with my vulnerability

in other words: took a knife to an open wound …

 

For the sake of healing and well-being

she used manipulation – read threat (even if eventually) –

in other words: took a knife to an open wound …

into continuing with obscurity of divinity – being  inauthentic.

 

She used manipulation – read threat (even if eventually) –

of poetics veneered in a thin cloak of light

but – obscurity of divinity – being  inauthentic.

what might in the subtlety of well-chosen words

 

Poetics veneered in a thin cloak of light

I’m not the only fool

what might in a few well-chosen words

I followed the lead of so many

 

I’m not the only fool

educated, informed, it shows in the writing

I followed the lead of so many

who fell for her words over years.

 

Educated, informed, it shows in the writing

we all want to be thought of as special

over the years – there’s no healing here

devastated by the shock of deception

 

We all want to be thought of as special

I was particularly canvassed – then

devastated by the cruelty of deception

lack of depth obscured by many subtle words

8 thoughts on “deception

  1. bethanyk says:

    “Canvassed” love that. Feel that. Know that.

    Like

  2. E says:

    Ouch. Vulnerability and deception hurt. I love this “obscurity of divinity” as hiding our authenticity. Good stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 454 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

