To MW – mpu

23

February 7, 2017 by petrujviljoen

title-page-2

Copyright Petru J Viljoen

I offered you my past. Stupid, naive, blind. Meant it as a gift. To aid your understanding; your insight into the condition of another. A Child. You took it. You added grit. Kneaded it into a consistency of your own likeness. You let it harden over a period of time. Then you stoned me with it.

When I came to I got up from where I was felled. I’ve grown beyond the point where I remain. Soiled.  I’m tired, though. There’s another room in my house.

Awash with silver

gifted light of summer’s moon –

lead softens to gold

….

Linked to Dverse and acknowledging first inspiration by the blog post on Carpe Diem Haiku Kai

23 thoughts on “To MW – mpu

  1. Jana H White says:

    This one has an ephemeral spare beauty to it… that still point of vulnerability. Powerful writing…!

    Like

  2. susanmehr says:

    Powerful, and epiphany of strength. Heartfelt and beautiful.

    Like

  3. rosemawrites says:

    so heartfelt and beautiful

    Like

  4. Mish says:

    I like the “tip of the iceberg” feeling this gives me…and I have my own story that resonates too well with your words. This is dark, intense and beautifully written.

    Like

  5. Bev says:

    Pithily worded. Perfectly kaiku’d!

    Like

  6. M says:

    strongly penned – like overly strong coffee, bitter but bracing – alchemical, like your final line ~

    Like

  7. I’m not sure what to think, then I thought that’s because the person is confused who wrote it. Not to say that’s bad… Wow!

    Like

  8. Grace says:

    This has grit and pain under the gold ~ The emotional angst is subtle and effective with sparse words ~

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Such richness here even though the subject matter has a darkness to it…and the alchemical Haiku is just fantastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. This got me thinking of the Pygmalion myth.. the creation of a mistress… kneading, and leaving spoiled. The haiku and the artwork adds dimensions of solace that contrast and complements the prose. Great work

    Like

  11. ladynyo says:

    At first I started to laugh..that is quite an opening…then I didn’t….I fell entranced, and read this over and over, and I find it very layered. There is something very moving here, but that is obvious….the haiku is lovely in the end. I will be back.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Wolfsrosebud says:

    Reminds me of chasing moonlight

    Like

  13. I like the way the prose slips into the poem, seamlessly.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. frankhubeny says:

    I like the idea of gifts being thrown back as stones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 440 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

