Haibun Monday, Night Sky

30

September 5, 2016 by petrujviljoen

Crickets have started. It’s still early. It’s the last half hour of day’s drama – topmost sky turns indigo, paling to soft light blue blending to pale yellow. A violet line along the deep green horizon. Valleys disappear. Orange, pink, violet wisps streak the sky. Long after the sun bid goodnight.

First star appears, brightens, throbs. More and more, a great very many more. Present to, in the night.

 

work of light being

handed over to the night

stardom triumphant

Pinnacles_Night_Sky_-_Flickr_-_Joe_Parks

Image source here

Linked to Dverse Poets

30 thoughts on “Haibun Monday, Night Sky

  1. Anita Lubesh says:

    I like the handing over of a shift, a watch described beautifuly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lynn__ says:

    Dramatic description of transition from day to night!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. AnnIsikArts says:

    I like ‘stardom’ – a kingdom of stars. 🙂

    Like

  4. Very beautiful imagery. I love the crickets introducing the whole scene.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lillian says:

    Stardom triumphant indeed. And I love that violet line. Beautifully descriptive.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Grace says:

    Love the vibrant colors as the sun bids us goodnight. A lovely haibun !

    Like

  7. Beautifully described and written. Poetic. Romantic.

    Like

  8. maria says:

    Oh, I wait in anticipation of the unveiling of the night sky. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sumana Roy says:

    like someone already said, you’ve displayed a gorgeous painting; love how night brightens up, little by little, starting with a single star…’stardom triumphant’…wow…

    Like

  10. kim881 says:

    After the colour imagery in your prose, that is a beautiful haiku – I love the idea of night taking over from day and triumphant stars!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Cricket SinGs
    SonGs of starliT
    Voice.. WinGs
    oFF SinG
    briGhten
    lonEly fields
    aS Night breaThes..

    Rhythm.. beAT
    and Song SinGs.. oN..
    starliGht Cricket Bands..:)

    Like

  12. rosemawrites says:

    love the beat and the colors of this lovely poem! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sherry Marr says:

    “Stardom triumphant.” I love that!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Nan Mykel says:

    Oh. great! I see you really took your time to absorb it. What a nice concept, the night taking over the light. I like “violet wisps,” too.

    Like

  15. thotpurge says:

    All those amazing colours!!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love the idea of the sun clocking off and handing the job over to the stars. I suppose the sun is a star, too. This is such a visual haibun, like reading a painting.

    Like

  17. The colors and the way you give the light to night is spectacular… what a crescendo for stardom

    Liked by 1 person

  18. kanzensakura says:

    I love how you present the stars in the night to us.

    Like

  19. Joon says:

    This is gorgeous. I especially like all the colors.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 483 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

