The Stork Party

9

July 27, 2016 by petrujviljoen

Gertrude’s conscience gnawed at her. A bit. Walking out on Joe and the kids like that. She saw her phone’s screen light up and whispered a glad hallo. When they left, they agreed to switch their phones off. A growl in her ear … Set face, pursed mouth, glaring at the screen, she switches off.

Like storks they were, carrying food to and fro, unceasing, laborious, to an ungrateful household. Pushed too far, one time too many: Wife! Mommy! I don’t like this food!

Enough!

Putting their heads together, Grace, Judith and herself, they planned. A holiday at the seaside.

Copyright Janet M Webb

Copyright Janet M Webb

Linked to Friday Fictioneers, hosted by Rochelle Wissoff-Fields.

9 thoughts on “The Stork Party

  1. wmqcolby says:

    Wow! A lot going on in that story. Nice work this week, Petru!

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    Sometimes you have to leave to be appreciated. Made me smile.

    Like

  3. gahlearner says:

    They deserve it. Great take on the prompt.

    Like

  4. I hope they have a lovely holiday!

    Like

  5. Dear Petru,

    A holiday at the seaside sounds like a good idea. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 504 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

