No new message

26

June 6, 2016 by petrujviljoen

5 groei ontgroei jpeg (800x600)

Text and artwork copyright PetruJViljoen

Right arm flung across my eyes, postponing the chores that lie in wait. I need to situate, come into this world, before I am able to stand up to the day after a night’s dreaming. I run over details, snatches I remember, amazed at the different masks the same life wears. The unmasking is told too, but decrypting remains arduous. I was told, once, at a Buddhist retreat, that issues of the unconscious must be dealt with within the unconscious. Preparing to re-immerse, a racket erupts on the roof. Dragged across the jagged edges between waking and sleeping. Bruised, I get up.

monkey mind awake

bleak winter day erases

relative dreaming

…………………………

“Haste is useless with the idea-horse and mind-monkey, so take off your baggage someplace deep within dreamland.”

Song Dynasty poet Zhu Yi 朱翌 (1098–1186 CE)

Linked to Dverse Poets Haibun Monday

26 thoughts on “No new message

  1. Fantastic artwork! I know that feeling of being dragged out of sleep, you capture it very well. Now I just want to know what was on the roof…

    Like

  2. lillian says:

    The different masks we wear — the deciphering of the dreams which are a part of our days as well as our nights. Enjoyed this very much!

    Like

  3. Bodhirose says:

    So true about the different masks we wear during our lives…interesting when you stop and think about it. I love the last two lines of your haibun. That monkey mind can grab us in a millisecond and wrest us from sleep when all we want to do is work on our unconscious issues for just a few more minutes. Really enjoyed this!

    Like

  4. kanzensakura says:

    This is just wonderful. The bruised feeling sometimes felt, the many masks…it is summer up here. Some days it is exhausting to greet the world.

    Like

  5. Those first moments of the awakening, muddling through dream fragments vs. reality–how well expressed:

    amazed at the different masks the same life wears. The unmasking is told too, but decrypting remains arduous.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fascinating artwork–just gorgeous. I so get wanting to postpone those waiting chores and keep dreaming!

    Like

  7. Nan Mykel says:

    I love this! Especially “amazed at the different masks the same life wears.”

    Like

  8. Grace says:

    I am with you on finding my footing first before things get very busy ~ Thankfully our winter season is over, so now we are enjoying the summer season ~ Thanks for joining in ~

    Like

  9. Patti says:

    You very aptly describe the transition from dreams to reality. It can indeed be bruising.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. thotpurge says:

    Image is beautiful and works so well with your on point line about the different masks that one life wears!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love the zen quality of that state where you have to learn how to handle thing… though that racket often comes to soon… I hope you got your things properly sorted before you were forced concious

    Like

  12. Utterly impressed by this writing – and artwork.- that ‘relative dreaming’ is such a good punchline re consciousness

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 421 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

