Narcissus – a tale

12

April 26, 2016 by petrujviljoen

Immortal flower of the Elysium. Nourishing the virtuous dead, the heroic gods and poor Greeks. The Asphodel a psychopomp. Daffodil. Narcissus spurned the girl Echo who was cursed by his mother Hera; he spurned the boy Ameinias.

Nemesis. Narcissus loved himself to death and decay.

in self-absorbtion

unaware of its burden

daffodil lives, dies

 

dafodils copyright susan judd via dverse

Haibun Monday at Dverse Poets is hosted by Bjorn Rudberg who enlisted the work of Susan Judd as inspiration for participants to write to. There’s some stunning writing – please visit Dverse to read the other work.

12 thoughts on “Narcissus – a tale

  1. mtw says:

    !!! i’m always a sucker for greek mythology and you combine that with my other love, poetry & prose. beautifully done. i so appreciate how well you incorporated the facts & figures of the story with the crystallized emotion of poetry.

    Like

  2. I absolutely love the way you close. It’s a poignant statement indeed.

    Like

  3. Victoria says:

    You took the prompt to a whole new level. I loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh I like how you likened the withered flowers to the myth… very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Bodhirose says:

    I think the daffodil possesses much more humility. I love your tale of the self-centered Narcissus and was drawn to this line: “Narcissus loved himself to death and decay.”

    I was married to one once… 😦

    Like

  6. Waltermarks says:

    It’s good to love yourself to an extent. Good read

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 453 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

