Noting Issa

24

March 28, 2016 by petrujviljoen

016

Picture copyright PetruJViljoen

Ah! The neighbours have gone. Their Easter getaway is now over – for this year. All is quiet on the home front again.

Lying on the grass, now unremarked, looking up at the sky through the leaves of the fern tree, sparkling light reflects in the dewdrops still clinging – plenteous shade provided by the avocado at eight in the morning. No discernible breeze but some slight movement sets the fanned branches waving – to and fro.

A blossom, drifting, softly spiralling. Valediction – hail ye indolent one – from a far-flung shore. Unmet, yet recognition.

From where this blossom

Gracing morning’s first coffee –

Ah! dream of Issa.

…………………………..

Kanzen Sakura is hosting Haibun Monday at Dverse Poets this week. Provided are several haiku by Issa and Basho.  We must choose one to base our haibun on. This exercise is called hanami. I chose Issa’s:

“what a strange thing –
to be alive
beneath cherry blossoms”

24 thoughts on “Noting Issa

  1. SMiLes.. mY friend.. then..
    iN a life full of distractions
    i made a Garden of the
    perimeters of mY yard
    bLocKinG out aLL
    distractions..
    and after
    decades
    of building
    iT.. finAlly i
    am Garden Free..:)

    Colors oF Y
    i
    faLL bloom..:)

    Like

  2. You set up a vivid scene of tranquility…where one can focus on those small but meaningful things like a blossom spiraling. Very nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nmykel says:

    Yu swept me up and carried me right along in your slow-moving stream of consciousness. I enjoyed it mucho.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. From where this blossom
    Gracing morning’s first coffee

    One can’t help but wonder on the spectacle. Wonderful lines Petru!

    Hank

    Like

  5. A splendid depiction of this scene. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Bryan Ens says:

    Your description of that blossom spiraling as it falls was beautiful.

    Like

  7. “Ah! dream of Issa” Wherever we are we can enjoy haiku. Very lovely work.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kathy says:

    I like the spontaneity of this…..the wonderment and joy of cherry blossoms.

    Like

  9. nmykel says:

    I don’t know what a “haibun” is and it’s not in my Webster’s Dictionary….Well, I just looked it up on Wiki and it seems anything can fit….

    Like

    • There’s much debate of what is haibun or haiku, in the English language. Haibun is basically prose with a haiku that results from the prose. Hope you enjoyed the write.

      Like

  10. Bodhirose says:

    Sounds so enjoyable when at last the neighbor’s are quiet and you’re alone with your reflections and a dream of Issa…wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. kanzensakura says:

    What a wonderful word for this – valediction. I love the thought of lying on the grass and seeing the first petal drifting down. And finding Issa in another land – I like this so much. Thank you for posting to the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Those moments of quiet are to be valued aren’t they where you can be at peace in a peaceful spot taking stock of the world around you….

    Liked by 1 person

  13. What a lovely write–love that haiku, that dreaming of Issa!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Grace says:

    A beautiful dream ~ I specially admire this part:

    A blossom, drifting, softly spiralling. Valediction – hail ye indolent one – from a far-flung shore. Unmet, yet recognition.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I enjoyed your haibun, especially the second paragraph. It transported me, I could see myself lying on the grass, and could imagine the sense of spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Mary says:

    I can hear the sigh of relief when all is quiet once again! And, alas, there is nothing like the first morning coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 453 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

