CROSSING THE SEA OF DEATH by Carol P. Christ

18

November 2, 2015 by petrujviljoen

Raising awareness – if anyone can help, please follow the Molivos Starfish link please.

carol p. christ photo michael bakasI am washing wet clothes cast off by refugees who crossed the Sea of Death, the new name for channel only 4 nautical miles wide that separates Turkey and Lesbos. A tiny pink long-sleeved shirt with a boat neck, for a girl, size 3 months. The channel was relatively safe in the spring and summer, even though people were pushed into black rubber dinghies wearing illegal life jackets that would not float. A pair of leggings with feet, grey with pink, orange, brown, white, and blue polka-dots, to be worn over diapers. North winds have made the journey treacherous.

I am not on the front lines, pulling wet children alive and dead from the sea. I think my heart would break. Tiny black stretch pants with nylon sequined bows at the knees, size 2 years. My friends were in the harbor when an overcrowded fishing boat collapsed, throwing 300 people…

View original post 535 more words

18 thoughts on “CROSSING THE SEA OF DEATH by Carol P. Christ

  1. bethanyk says:

    This post breaks my heart. To think of the desperate individuals….very very upsetting.

    Like

  2. Thank you! I reblogged it, and mentioned you.
    I’ve been following this tragedy, and it breaks my heart over and over again. I’ve contributed to MSF, and will help through the channel that this post mentions, as well.
    Haven’t seen you in a while, PViljoen! Hope you’re well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 439 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

