Patriarchy

9

August 7, 2015 by petrujviljoen

Enough said.patriarchy

9 thoughts on “Patriarchy

    • btw. my daughter once gave cactuses to my husband and me: for him, an upright one with two round offshoots, and for me a cactus very like this. most uncomfortable in so many ways! and hilarious.

      Like

      • I was wondering whether you meant the analogy as I saw it. She seems nervy, scratched all over, but it could be good nerves, excitement, that thrill we all feel when presented with a flower(s). Whatever. It’s a complex world. Your daughter giving you cactuses – a Very Creative Child. Thinking out of the box. 🙂

        Like

        • not so much a child at the time, she was about 25, but yes, a very creative being.

          my story was an aside.Your piece speaks of discomfort, constrainment and awkwardness. It is rather brutal, with its thorny yoni, and rightly so. And the main readable words: ‘bible, woman, refuse’ are a poem in themselves.

          Like

        • Laughing with you & your daughter. And yes, your insight into the work is spot on.

          Liked by 1 person

  1. Amazing. And yep–“enough said.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Using type as abstracted forms/textures is kinda a visual poesy; deliteralizing the structure of the words while keeping their meaning. Nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Howard. I rather like this work. As usual one doesn’t get so much interest when posting work to do with feminism and GBV etc. Through PS I learn to not layer so very much, it gets cluttered easily. Will feed into my painting, collage work.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 421 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

