Time to Rewrite the Shame and Stigma of… by M/R Johnson

Leave a comment

March 17, 2015 by petrujviljoen

Nikki Skies

rhondajohnsonblogpic

Hello my name is M/R Johnson.  I am a survivor of Co-Occurring Disorders of depression and addiction.  Now before you begin to judge me let me tell you my story.

Are you aware that there are approximately 8.9 million adults who have Co-Occurring Disorders? Only 7.4 percent of individuals receive treatment for both conditions, while 55.8 percent receive no treatment at all.

I was one of the 55.8 percent who did not received help,  all because of the shame and stigma that has feared the communities of the African American people and has keep them in bondage…Or should I say slavery.

Co-occurring Disorders has no color line, or race, creed or gender. Co-Occurring Disorders  is the un-addressed epidemic that is trying to kill the makeup of our families  values and traditions in our society. So let’s talk…What is the true definition for the words shame and stigma?

View original post 509 more words

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 421 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

