The Life and Work of Needlesmith, Bernice E. Butler, by Denise Allen

Leave a comment

March 15, 2015 by petrujviljoen

It’s Women’s History Month – Nikkieskies (dotwordpressdotcom) features a blog a day with reference to women.

Nikki Skies

A needlesmith is a person who makes a living with their hands sewing and doing needlework. Some needlesmiths’ are also men who excel in needlework design including weaving, embroidery, leatherwork, tailoring, sewing and design. This short story is about a very special woman I once knew who lived in Brooklyn, New York whose name is Mrs. Bernice E. Butler. I wanted to share Mrs. Butlers’ story because she was such a special woman in so many ways. She was an extraordinary gifted seamstress, clothes designer and embroideress. A woman of valor of great worth and integrity.

bernicebutlerpicfordenise

I met Mrs. Butler many moons ago and was honored to have the opportunity to sit with her one day to learn many intimate details about her life and sewing skills.

View original post 441 more words

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 421 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

