Journey of a Photograph – Process

Leave a comment

April 9, 2014 by petrujviljoen

In response to an article written by Nannus on Asifoscope, I decided to post the process of the artwork for the above collaboration.

There’a a clear ‘gap’ of process photographs between pic 2 and pic 3. One’s hands get rather grubby, what with working with glue, ink, thinners, household bleach and applying paint by hand rather than brush, besides one gets a bit carried away and therefore forget to take a photo.

The process is at a good 4th layer of work and I’m only now beginning to see where it could go. Or looking at pic no. 2 – maybe I should’ve stopped there. Can’t help myself. This is approximately 5 hours worth of fairly constant work on a size of approximately 297mm by approximately 500mm. When I work I think, okay, this is a journey, some stuff happened along the way and away we go. Hope this is informative.

At this last stage, I can see elements of previous projects, i.e. the artist books, in the obvious light and dark areas, showing the folds of the accordian books. I love working with mixed media. The work so far contains, rubbings or frottage I made, candle wax, ink, household bleach, glue (both to stick things on and to create texture), acrylic paint.

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 483 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

