James de Villiers – prominent South African Artist

Leave a comment

December 20, 2013 by petrujviljoen

I’ve known James’ work for some time. These abstractions are awe-inspiring.

This is what he has to say about his work:

This phase of my work, started in 2010 is based on grids, both natural and man-made. It was initially triggered by studying Gericault’s, The Raft of the Medusa and the grid pattern of the raft while being fascinated with the random arrangements of branches , twigs and leaves produced in the process of trimming and gardening. Each type of grid has certain characteristics and functions such as those used for map-making, town planning, artillery bombardments and archaeological sites among many others.
Naturally occurring grids happen when, as in much of my work, branches and debris fall into random grid patterns and as in crystalline structures, very ordered arrangements. I concentrate more on the natural, organic and random grids and the juxtaposition over man-made grids, the tensions produced. The battle between the imposition of human will over the forces of nature.”

Further contemplation of his work can be found on his website: www.111.co.za

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 421 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

