The Vehicle

30

March 2, 2013 by petrujviljoen

friday fictioneers home-made_car

He pulled the business card from the wipers, annoyed. ” Another buyer!” In the act of throwing it away the words on the back registered. ”Phone regarding this car for art exhibition. Don’t change anything!” He turned the card over: Saatchi & Saatchi, Brenda Tate, 065 555-4765.

”Art exhibition? ” Bemused, he drove off. He remembered the recent fracas about Damien Hirst.

Ray Charles was playing …

I’ve got a tiger by the tail it’s plain to see

I won’t be much when you get through with me …”

 He raised his eyebrows, grinned and threw the card away.

 *****************

Friday Fictioneers is a 100-word flash fiction challenge hosted by Rochelle Wissoff-Fields. Photo is copyright Beth Carter. Lyrics by Ray Charles found here

I’m late posting this week – there was no internet access for the best part of yesterday (1.3.2013).

30 thoughts on “The Vehicle

  1. claireful says:

    I really like how I had no idea what he would do with the card, and then when he threw it away it seemed like exactly the right thing to do .
    Claire

    Like

  2. rich says:

    in this sentence: “He pulled the business card from the wipers, annoyed.” you can save a word and add a little drama. how would someone “pull” the card while annoyed? maybe something like “snatched.” so, maybe “He snatched the business card…” or swiped or ripped. then, instead of you telling us he is “annoyed,” we can figure it out from his actions. this is what people refer to when they say “show, don’t tell.” but of course it’s optional.

    well done.

    Like

  3. Had to google Damien Hearst. Lovely imagination,

    Like

  4. C. Patrick says:

    I see the controversy about Damien Hirst: I find butterflies to be extraordinarily offensive. However, I liked the jewelled skull with the clown nose. Oh, and the flying pig. And the two sharks in acrylic.

    Like

  5. Sunshine says:

    i like your story from an art perspective…different, and that made it interesting. ♥

    Like

  6. elappleby says:

    I enjoyed this – and am also suffering from intermittent internet – I feel your pain!

    Like

  7. tedstrutz says:

    Interesting way you constructed your story. THe guy is his own man.

    Like

  8. Dear Petruj,
    This is a unique take on the prompt. I’ll have to look up Damien Hirst myself. One man’s trash is another’s treasure. Nice job.
    Shalom,
    Rochelle

    Like

    • petrujviljoen says:

      Quite. If Hirst shocks or dismay you – I started appreciating and valuing his work when I read an interview … ”I don’t want to become the idea I have of myself …” – thought it was as cool as the home made car

      Like

  9. You are no more late than I was early. I was glad to be able to read your 100 words.

    Like

  10. finding the card, and throwing it away. I liked that.

    Like

  11. Beth Carter says:

    I love the “don’t change anything” on the back of the business card and how he loves his car so much that he tosses the card away. Well done. I’ll have to Google Damien Hirst!

    Like

    • petrujviljoen says:

      Hirst is a British artist. Not sure you’re going to like it. Thanks for reading and liking my story.

      Like

  12. Just Googled Damien Hirst and will have to read more, although I can tell already I’m not a fan of his art (or possibly of him, either.) From what I read, though, your narrator made a wise decision! I liked the various strands of people, events and songs you tied into your story.

    janet

    Like

    • petrujviljoen says:

      Thanks!

      Like

    • petrujviljoen says:

      I’m not surprised that you don’t like Damien Hirst, or his work. He’s very controversial. British artist. One thing that he said in an interview, published in a reputable art magazine, Frieze I think it was … ” He didn’t want to become the idea he had of himself”. I thought that was pretty cool and followed and tried to like his work ever since.

      Like

  13. nightlake says:

    this was a good one:)

    Like

  14. Sandra says:

    An imaginative take on the prompt. Well done.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 441 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

