painting in progress

6

August 17, 2012 by petrujviljoen

I’m currently busy with this painting and it is taking me ages. I’m getting quite pedantic about the mark I make. I’m afraid it’s beginning to look like a knitted jersey. Too much tension in the mark. Even if I enjoy mixing the colours. The different tonal values is a challenge that I insist on ‘getting it right’ – my motto … I’m beginning to wish it was finished. It’s too far down the line to abandon. And, lucky me, there’s a commission waiting to be done. Feel free to criticize.

I’ve been reading other blogs with regard to painting, or art making in general. Quite frankly, it’s the only time I vaguely feel like a human being. The only time I feel I am really working.

6 thoughts on “painting in progress

  1. mien says:

    Mooi skildery. Mien van Mosselbaai.

    Like

  2. Only because you ASKED!

    Nice colors and composition, but I think you’re correct in assessing that it’s getting a bit busy/knitted. Some larger strokes of accents … both highlights and darks … might do the trick. And try to get at least some of your darks connected instead of being isolated patches.

    As a person with a particular knack for “seeing things” I have to say that your rocks are full of FACES – a LOT of them, the most obvious being at the left side about 1/2 way up the waterfall. You also have a couple of very round dark areas that look like sliced black olives on a pizza. I can photoshop the picture to point out the faces if you like – some artists I know don’t like to know about things like that … it’s a personal preference. Let me know and I can get back to you.

    Like

    • petrujviljoen says:

      Thank you. I always appreciate constructive criticism. I’ll see what I can do get it more coherent. I’m not afraid to hear what other people have to say about my work.

      Like

    • petrujviljoen says:

      I didn’t see the second part of your comment … I know about that face on the left. It in fact reminds me of my father! He passed away recently and I’m not quite over it. I’m not sure I want to know about the other faces. I find it is quite easy to see faces, specially if one works as tightly as I am at the moment. Thanks for the offer. I tried accessing your page but first time not successful. I’ll try again from this comment link. Thanks for the criticism. Hope to hear from you again.

      Like

    • petrujviljoen says:

      I tried again … got to the Plein Air homepage, went to artists tab, went to ‘P’ but no Plein Air Gal. If there’s another link or actual web address, let me know it, would like to see your work. Petru

      Like

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 421 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

