It’s Difficult to Explain

Leave a comment

July 13, 2012 by petrujviljoen

It’s hard to explain
why I rage against the dictionary
that defines a female as a screw or a socket,
hollow, so as to be able to receive
the only function.

As a vessel and weak
to boot
by man they mean he has a soul.
No less, a human being.

Woman is the sex
with no
individuality – a skirt and a petticoat
a bunch of flax,
that still speaks with apology
on the radio

to man
about the violence of crime
that he negates the nearly voiceless,
the woman the rock
if man hit her,
she can’t
throw a book at him
the Biblical stones have been silenced.

by PetrujViljoen

Copyright July 2012

Leave a Reply

Copyright

Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material or any part of this material without express and written permission from myself is strictly prohibited.

proartist.viljoen79@gmail.com

Join 439 other followers

Artist Statement or rationale or why do I do what I do

petrujviljoen

petrujviljoen

I make art, I read a lot and I'm now trying to write as well. Otherwise I belong to a cat by the name of Charlie that drives me nuts sometimes and other times makes me melt with love for her.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

